Why Run a Calcium Reactor

TheClark

Why Run a Calcium Reactor  

25 members have voted

1. 1. Why Run a Calcium Reactor http://www.pnwmas.org/public/style_images/Images_PNWMAS_Master/accept.png

• Ease of Maintenance
    • Stability
    • Cost
    • Improved Growth
    • I use 2 part instead
    • I only do water changes

I know from google lots of reasons, but it is more interesting to me to hear what local people say.  People I have met with, seen their tanks, known their experience and success.

So, why do you run it?  I am very interested in things like

"My sps growth doubled"

"Colors improved"

"It crashed my tank"

"2 part crashed my tank"

Etc..

Good calcium reactor advice for selection/setup/disaster prevention?

I am all ears....

(This is my first attempt at setting up a poll, let's see if it works)

Edited by theclark

Calcium has also been proven to improve aquarium health. The mineral cations found in calcium improves the overall "balance" of the tank. While detritus and other such as conditioners are harming long-term health of the tank, the calcium is improving it.

The use if calcium reactors

http://www.americanaquariumproducts.com/AquariumKH.html#kalkwasser

A aquarium "balance"

http://americanaquariumproducts.com/Redox_Potential.html

• Like 1

My main reasons are:

1. Easy - depending on the tank load, media can last 6+ months. You don't need to refill anything, just keep the reactor running and life's good. It doses equally so no adjusting alk/cal individually (unless something else gets things out of balance). Also, depending on the size of your co2 tank, one fill can last up to a year or more.

2. Adds extra trace elements not found in 2 part. As I've found from my nutrient stripping escapade, extra nutrients are a good thing if you have a good system to control them (without rapid depletion).