Looking for anecdotes on your refugium light schedule

Matteo

Do you run your fuge lights 24/7? Or do you run them on a schedule? If a schedule do you run them opposite of your DT lights? 

Just curious what you all do or what you think works best! 

I guess it depends in the systems but thats why I'm looking for simple anecdotes :)

Cheers!

I am new to the refugium world and my tank has only been up a month but I have been running the light from 6pm to 6am.  From what I have read most people recommend running opposite the day lights and so far so good.

Great post would be curious what others experience is. 

• Thanks 1

5 minutes ago, Emerald525 said:

I am new to the refugium world and my tank has only been up a month but I have been running the light from 6pm to 6am.  From what I have read most people recommend running opposite the day lights and so far so good.

Great post would be curious what others experience is. 

I'm currently running 24/7 to help combat algae since my upgrade is "new" but I'm wondering if going back to the split schedule would be better 🤔 

I know this isn't apples to apples, but it's kinda close. I run my algae turf scrubber in an overlapping reverse lighting schedule to my main display.   The more I read, the more I understand that plant life, even algae, needs a dark period.  

My daytime schedule is 9:30-9:30, but I run my scrubber lights 6pm to Noon.   I've found that the opposing schedule helps reduce the pH swing at night.  

• Like 1
  • Thanks 1

50 minutes ago, Micah said:

I know this isn't apples to apples, but it's kinda close. I run my algae turf scrubber in an overlapping reverse lighting schedule to my main display.   The more I read, the more I understand that plant life, even algae, needs a dark period.  

My daytime schedule is 9:30-9:30, but I run my scrubber lights 6pm to Noon.   I've found that the opposing schedule helps reduce the pH swing at night.