Hello!

Oelyk

I'm a complete newbie to the hobby but I finally decided to pull the trigger and create my own reef tank! I'm not totally sure what I'm doing but I'm learning new things every day. It's just been a ton of fun talking to the LFS's and attending the event at Cuttlefish and Coral last month(I didn't win any raffles unfortunately). I decided to go with a 15 Gallon AOI by Innovative marine and hope to fill it with bright and vibrant corals someday. I'm still looking for some components(If you got a used AI Prime or similar you're willing to part with, I'm looking to buy one!) but I'm super excited to set the tank up and start learning!

• Like 7

Welcome to the club! I started by watch brs 52 weeks of reefing and got overwhelmed with information but later it was tons of help and it's on YouTube. The ai prime would be overkill for that task in my opinion but would be great if you plan to upgrade later to something a little bigger later. Amazon.com smatfarm 95w light is great foe it's price and it's like having 2 primes side by side. It has its own internal timer and ramps so no worries of losing programs and wifi connections.  Ai primes just melt lenses like crazy. Also you'll want to keep in mind with that small of a tank, you can't add much without keeping a solid balance of filtration. 

Does smatfarm have good lights? I was actually looking at the new 60W G3 that looked perfect but I couldn't find any real reviews. What kind of filtration would you recommend? the AOI comes with a sock, which I was told you can clean ever 1-2 days, but I also wasn't planning to have many fish.

1 hour ago, Oelyk said:

Does smatfarm have good lights? I was actually looking at the new 60W G3 that looked perfect but I couldn't find any real reviews. What kind of filtration would you recommend? the AOI comes with a sock, which I was told you can clean ever 1-2 days, but I also wasn't planning to have many fish.