Planned power outage

SuncrestReef

PGE is doing a lot of work in my neighborhood to replace power poles and wires.  Today I received a notice in the mail that they will be shutting off the power to my neighborhood next Monday for up to 4 hours, sometime between 8am - 3pm.  They can't give an exact time.  Monday's weather forecast is for 93 degrees, so I'm concerned that my tank will heat up quickly without the air conditioning working in the house, plus I won't have any flow in the tank once my UPS runs out of backup power after about 20 minutes.  

I'm pretty new to the hobby, my tank is only 3 months old, so I'm not sure how much to worry about this.  Will 4 hours without power be a major risk, or no problem?  I have a Reefer XL 425 with only 6 fish, 2 shrimp, 14 corals, 1 anemone, and a cleanup crew.  I can turn off the LED lights, UV sterilizer, and refugium pump to conserve power so the UPS might last a little longer, but I still don't think it will run more than 20 - 30 minutes on UPS power.

Any suggestions?

If using EcoTech get the backup battery to keep the powerheads going to avoid stagnation, freeze some milk jugs full of water or Ice packs, and keep an eye on the temperature, if begins to raise begin to add ice packs as needed to bring it down, and save your UPS for powering a couple basic house fans on the tank. If everything goes well and 4 hours is all things should go fine.

• Like 1

I think you will be fine temp wise.  It takes a lot to heat up water and unless you are living in a tent (which I doubt 😀) your house wont get that warm.  If you have AC you could turn it down Sunday night and you could lower the temp on your tank so the water is a little cooler.  

• Like 3

9 hours ago, Sailingeric said: