Soon to be Reefer in Albany

Sehr

Hi All,

My name is Sehr and my family and I are looking to get into reefing here in the Albany/Corvallis areal. My wife and I have two kids, 1yr old daughter (birthday this weekend), and a 5.5yr old son. My daughter is completely enamored with animals of any kind. I am an IT Manager with a very analytical/logical mind, and my head is just spinning with the lack of consistent information in this side of the hobby, it just doesn't compute. I'm understand there is a bit more of an art, rather than a science. That's where I truly hope this community can help me, I am no artist, and with a lack of consistent facts I hope to meet some SME's I can rely on for assistance to help me along this path.

Not a new aquarist, have maintained freshwater and planted fw for about the last decade. My wife and I have been considering going SW for the last few years dipping into research, planning and pricing for the last 5 or so, ultimately time, money, or frustration steered us away in the past.

I have been researching and planning for about the last 3 weeks, and the only thing I have purchased was a 36gal bowfront I promptly returned after talking to a few lfs and random hobbyist. My wife is getting frustrated with the lack of progress. Going to start an additional thread on the build.

Welcome! It's true that a lot of this hobby is an art, and trial and error is a regular occurrence. But there is good information out there on many topics, so you won't have to take every shot in the dark. There are some very knowledgeable reefers in your area - @badxgillen and @Lexinverts immediately come to mind.

Did you return the 36g with the thought of going larger?