Help me

Cha

-Alk 15dkh( dose two teaspoon soda ash this morning, digitata isn't as white as yesterday but is brown?) tested at cayes

-calcium no idea I'm sure it's not that low sps doing good ( was being cheap and didn't test, cost 1 dollar lol)

-magnesium no idea( forgot to ask them to check I was In a hurry)

-ph 7.8-8.0

-nirate 0

How to get alk lower and how do i get ph higher without raising alk with soda ash

Edited by Cha

Coral, especially sps and no test kits?  :nono:

I'm not very good at explaining this but each of the main 3 elements have a important role to each other, meaning, what effects one will effect another.

If it were me and i couldn't test my own levels and adjust accordingly i would do a large water change.

I think i was once told raising your calcium will lower your alk but don't quote me on that, that and you can't test anyway.

Important edit:

Stop dosing anything without knowing your current levels!

Edited by ChrisQ
  • Like 1

As Chris said, a water change is going to be the easiest "fix" at this point.

Some other pointers:

- you shouldn't be dosing soda ash straight. You should follow a BRS/online recipe and dosing guide using their calculator. Mix it up into a liquid and dose sparingly.

- changing anything rapidly in the tank is going to make your coral mad. Losing colors (browning) or bleaching will occur from this. Get some test kits and see how your tank responds day to day and uses up Alk, Ca, and Mg and make a dosing plan.

I would do a larger water change and the leave it, everything has had enough changes for the day. Let things coast and test but take things easy and avoid over correcting as has happened.

Ok thanks guys,( I'll be getting reef kit test) also if I was to get brightwell calcium and magnesium bottle would I still be able to dose the soda ash if I mixed it like BRS? Or would I have to get the calcium and magnesium powder for the soda ash to work.