Advice needed on new setup (40BR)

jfly

I'm trying to decide how I want to plumb my new tank when I get it. I talked to Joel(?) over at Waves the other day and he suggested a 1.5" bulkhead with a flat screen fitting over it that he had on one of his tanks coming out to a tee and down to the sump. It actually looked pretty awesome and I'd never seen it before. I'm so used to seeing the overflow boxes and big standpipes in the tank. I also like that fly guy overflow with the slit down the PVC that I've seen a few places, but I'm not sure. I've never built a plumbed tank before. I want the tank to be very quiet.

I think that first I need to assess how much flow I will need in the tank. Then I can determine which type of plumbing will service that need, and then I can work on specific equipment.

The tank would not be an SPS dominated bare bottom megaflow, as I personally really enjoy softies and LPS a bit more, though I'm not opposed to SPS.

I was recommended the Snapper which is supposedly dead silent and runs 2500 GPH at 0'. That seems like a LOT to me, even if I keep it dialed down with a ball valve. I don't remember the flow drop at 3'-4', but at 2k GPH I'd be doing a 50x turnover, which seems high to me. I know that pipe size and layout and all that changes things, but what can I realistically expect here? I was originally thinking about an Eheim 1262 (900GPH). Suggestions/advice?

Now I can only assume that with a gigantic 1.5" bulkhead on a 40 gallon that I'd have plenty of flow with just a single overflow. With only 16" of tank height, though, wouldn't that leave my waterlevel rather low in the display?

If I drill in 2 returns... do they go above or below the overflow height (or does that matter at all with check valves and whatnot?) What size? Should I do 4? Is that going to make the back wall of the tank incredibly weak?

Thanks in advance. I've got lots more ideas to toss around, but I'll try and limit it a bit. :)