UPGRADE MY SKIMMER!

Ron Popeil

i know most of these "whats the best skimmer?" threads can get pretty monotonous and annoying, but i would like some input from you locals on what possible skimmers are recommended that i might not know of....

ive been running an ASM G4 skimmer for four years now. originally i was really impressed, but in the last several months i just havent felt its been performing as well as i demand. i replaced the impellor, i modded it for recirc, and still...just not feeling it.

so im in the market to do better. i want thick foam. i want disgusting froth. i want in sump.

here is what im currently operating:

130 or so total gallon system. i like to feed heavily. i have a sump slightly wider than a 55 gallon.

my water level does fluctuate in the sump, and ive heard this is a problem with the msx skimmers. what are some other recommended skimmer names i should look into?

thanks for any suggestions!

The G4 is a pretty big body for the measly Sedra 9000, even with the recirc mod. You could add another recirc pump to it, and it would rock! I'd go with an Ehiem1262 along with the 9000.

But, if you're into stimulating the economy, why not get an ATB, or a reeflo?

ATB is definitely the flavor of the day when it comes to latest and greatest, but they are an in-sump so the changing water level in your sump would be a problem. I agree with chewie, though I'd replace the Sedra 9000 with a single modded Sicce 2500. If that turned out to be too light, I'd add a second Sicce.

Either way, I'd upgrade the G4 long before I'd replace it with something else.

jon, unfortunately i dont have the space for a reeflo skimmer. nor the budget. so you think i should just drill out the opposite side i have my current sedra, and plumb in an eheim and use that for dual circulation?