Hey everyone!

Curelessjr

Hi all,

I've been lurking on the forum for a bit, but decided to finally jump in.

I'm a total newbie to salt. I've had freshwater in the past. But between being in school and in an apartment for years, having any kind of tank wasn't feasible. We are finally in a house and I want to get into this.

The big question, where should I even start? I was looking at a 15 to 25 gallon waterbox with a few fish, but, I believe smaller tanks are more difficult to maintain parameters. At the same time I don't want to drop the cash for a huge setup to only mess things up or become frustrated.

Any thoughts would be greatly appreciated.

1 hour ago, Curelessjr said:

Hi all,

I've been lurking on the forum for a bit, but decided to finally jump in.

I'm a total newbie to salt. I've had freshwater in the past. But between being in school and in an apartment for years, having any kind of tank wasn't feasible. We are finally in a house and I want to get into this.

The big question, where should I even start? I was looking at a 15 to 25 gallon waterbox with a few fish, but, I believe smaller tanks are more difficult to maintain parameters. At the same time I don't want to drop the cash for a huge setup to only mess things up or become frustrated.

Any thoughts would be greatly appreciated.

Yes ,smaller tanks leave smaller water delusion for mistakes. I did start with a 29ga but 40b I would highly recommend. 

• Like 1

4 hours ago, Curelessjr said:

Would you go the AIO route?

Personally if you want simplicity and to see if you really like the hobby going small is the way to go and an AIO is also the way to go. Yes it can be more difficult to keep parameters stable but this is not a big deal if you choose hardier corals like softies and mushrooms to start with.  I think at least 20 or 25 gallons. The smaller tanks like the ten gallon gave me the most challenge with stability. The 20 and higher are more doable. 

• Like 1

12 hours ago, Curelessjr said: