So it's Chalices now, huh?

biomekanic

When I semi-retired out of the hobby a few years back, the Lord Howe's were the new HAWTNESS. A coral for years that had been an 'eh' item going for outrageous sums of money.

And now it seems that chalices have stepped into that role.

So, any bets on the new hawtness when the chalice madness fades?

I'm new to the hobby but have noticed that too! That chalices seem to be all the rage! What's up with that? I mean some of them are really cool but there is a lot of cool stuff! I find scolly's really fascinating but they are so darn expensive so I don't have one yet! I don't even know what a Lord Howe is.

Ya, I noticed it was first Zoas, then acans (Lordhowensis), now chalices.

I don't think that scolies will make it big because of the difficulty in fragging them, and the year or so it takes for them to heal up to looking round again.

I was OK with the zoa craze (not willing to pay more than $2/polyp), and the acan craze was kinda neat because all the cool colors that could be found (no more than $10/polyp for me). But chalices... most of them look like baby poop on a nacho chip to me. OOOOH, this one has some peas with the carrots... BLAH! I don't even want to pay $1 per eye, let alone the $40 or $50 per eye that some are going for... LOL

dsoz

• Like 1

I was OK with the zoa craze (not willing to pay more than $2/polyp), and the acan craze was kinda neat because all the cool colors that could be found (no more than $10/polyp for me). But chalices... most of them look like baby poop on a nacho chip to me. OOOOH, this one has some peas with the carrots... BLAH! I don't even want to pay $1 per eye, let alone the $40 or $50 per eye that some are going for... LOL

dsoz

I might have enjoyed chemistry more if my teacher had been this funny!(laugh)

Fortunately for me I'm "soooo last year in the saltwater fashion" and am still acan and zoa crazed as well as montiobsessed! I only have one chalice but will likely get more.