Alkalinity swings

Spschampion

Hi, I have a question for those more experienced reefers. I check my alkalinity pretty routinely. I use about 2.5 ml of alkalinity a day and drop approximately .3 of a DKH per day with nothing added. While this seems to remain fairly constant, I occasionally find that there is days where the DKH drop is less. If my dosing remains the same amount I have a slight rise in DKH. It’s not much so I doubt it matters, just wondered if this is a normal thing?

I'm no expert in the subject, but my understanding is that alkalinity consumption will vary based on calcium levels, magnesium levels, lighting, pH, and temperature.  I'll assume your lighting and temperature are consistent day to day, but how often are you testing your calcium, magnesium and pH to see how they compare on days you notice the smaller alk drop?

Also, keep in mind all test kits have a margin of error.

• Like 1

Don't forget to do your tests at the same time each day. I pretty much stopped testing because the test kit colors never match the cards they give you so it's a best guess. That and I'm partially color blind from years of welding. I do like the Hanna alk checker as there's no real guesswork besides eyeballing the vial water level.

• Like 3

5 hours ago, Spschampion said:

While this seems to remain fairly constant, I occasionally find that there is days where the DKH drop is less. If my dosing remains the same amount I have a slight rise in DKH. "It’s not much" so I doubt it matters, just wondered if this is a normal thing?

What is its not much? Need more info. I think as long as your not swinging more than .5 in a given day you should be good