Anemone question?

Beckie

O.k. I am sure this is a total newbie ?

After getting my anemone it settled right in, clowns hosting and looking good.

It has decided to talk a walk about for 2 days. I understand that it is normal. The problem is that it seems to be damaging birds nest, mushrooms, fan's .... just about every thing but fish:eek:.

How do I prevent it as much as posible until it settles in?

Unfortunately, until the anemone finds the spot it likes, it is going to keep moving. You may not have enough light on your tank to keep the anemone happy. Can you add some more T-5's? I think I remember that is the lighting you have.

Clowns will sometimes host other things than anemones. Mine have started to host frogspawn. When I put them in the tank with the anemone, they would not even look twice at it, but they love their frogspawn.

I would recommend trading in the anemone for some long, wavy coral. Torch, frogspawn, hammer, elegance. All of these have been alternate hosts for clowns.

I also have to say that clowns don't need anemones to survive in our tanks. They can host a powerhead for all that it matters.

I hope that you have covered all the intakes for the powerheads and pumps. It talks about that here...

http://www.karensroseanemones.com/coverpowerheads.htm

You may wake up to anemone soup if you don't.

The whole site is good for learning about anemones... I spent the time to read the whole thing.

I would recommend trading in the anemone for some long, wavy coral. Torch, frogspawn, hammer, elegance

In my very short experience clowns love elegance corals, but are not loved in return. My clowns like to love rough, and they beat the heck out of my elegance coral to the point that it wouldn't open up anymore.

I traded it in for a Green BTA thinking I would give them something durable, and now it is hiding under a rock. My clowns are now hosting my Radioactive Dragon Eyes which arn't happy. I just don't understand clowns.

Shane