New Member Vancouver, WA

USCG CWO

Hello,

I'm a long time lurker among many cites since I started this hobby and finally thought I join a few. I am very new to saltwater, but have been maintaining freshwater aqauriums on and off for years. Finally decided it was time to give it a try. My name is Shane and I am in the Coast Guard and stationed in Portland. I am married and have two beautiful daugthers.

Anyway, tank is 55 gal. glass, megaflow #1 sump (hard piped to the Esopps PF#300 Overflow with Stockman stanpipe) My overflow was gurgling so loud and after MUCH researching the Stockman and hard piping were the only things that helped, a Coralife Super skimmer, a Rio 2100return pump, and for circulation an aquaclear 70 (which will be replaced soon with two hydor koralia's a #2/#3). It has been running for three weeks with nothing but 40lbs of base aragonite.

I wanted to make sure I could maintain the PARMS before I added anything living. On the 15th of August I removed some of my base substrate and mixed it in with 30lbs of live sad and 30 lbs of live rock. I have finally begun something I have always wanted to do and just never had a chance. I am ghost feeding it to speed up the cycle time, but still won't put in a CUC for another three weeks or so.(highfive)

I just wanted to say hello and I'm looking forward to learning and who know's maybe passing on some knowledge as I go. (waving)

If any of you live close to the Hazel Dell area I'd love to get together and chat. I live over by Columbia River High.

Welcome aboard(clap) There are a few people out that way that are on the board. I am east over by Evergreen Hi School. There is a CC meet and great coming up this thursday evening. Also when the tank gets going give me a shout and can help you out with a few zoos and GSP as mine grows like a weedDOH!

Welcome to the forum Shane!