Brand new nano

theJenchild

Hey everyone! Like many folks on here I am new to the world of marine aquariums. I kept FW tanks for quite some time, and recently ventured into a reef tank. For my graduation from college I received a 15.5 all-in-one cube made by pacific coast. It has already been a bit of an adventure!

Currently the tank is lit by PC bulbs that came stock in the hood. It has about 30 lbs live sand, and about 15 lbs LR. I am not planning to run a skimmer quite yet, and I am waiting to decide if I will run a sump. The configuration of the hood won't allow me to have an overflow box, but if I switch to a sunpod metal halide, then I will be removing the hood anyways and will be adding a sump (maybe a protein skimmer as well).

My plan for this tank is to have primarily soft corals, mostly zoanthids and mushrooms. I'd really love to have xenia and GSPs as well. I do not have any plans for fish at this stage, but may be interested in a pair of green banded gobies. That is really far in the future though! I am in the middle of my cycle and am not planning to add animals until late in July. Any suggestions are welcomed. I'm excited to be part of the community here at PNWMAS.

1000235jj8.jpg

Welcome to the addiction! And welcome to the club. The tank looks nice. I like the open cave look, and there are lots of flat places to add coral frags. :)

If you every come up to the portland area, I can give you some xenia. I can't help you too much with the GSP because they do not grow well in my tank. Go figure, they are weeds for most people, and I can't keep them... ???

Even though you are in the middle of your cycle, there is a guy in Corvallis that is selling off frags. You may be able to get by with getting some GSP and putting it in your tank anyway. It may survive the cycle. Or you can ask him to hold some for you for the time it takes for your tank to cycle.