Eugene's 300 Gallon Cemetary

ahreno

Well I dont know if this post will show up or not since i'm still probationary or whatever...

If you didn't read my previous introductory post, i'll paraphrase: I just bought a house and it came with a 300 gallon tank and i'm all but a complete newbie.

I came home today from 5 days back in wisconsin for the holidays.... 80+% of my corral is dead. I had just added a sea apple before i left and i'm thinking it died and killed all my corral. something definately died and spike my ammonia levels up to 1.0-2.0 ad that caused a domino effect. I think i lost close to $1000 worth of corral - there were some beautiful pieces in there. Almost all the corral is gone/dead... hoping to save some of the green star stuff... but it's not looking so hot.

The weird thing is that the fish all look ok... a couple are missing (haven't seen my mandarain fish, a gobie or two) but the naso and yellow tangs look healthy, a chromi or two has some raw looking spots on them and the others (flame angel, lawnmower blenny, coral beuty, clown etc...) are still alive.

So today i had aqua serene come check it out and Austin helped me figure out what was dead and what might be close to salvageable. then i proceeded to do about 110 gallon water change and will do that again tomorrow, followed by some nightly 50 gallon changes through the week.

my roommate was watching the tank / feeding and had mentioned to me that the corral didn't look happy but i guess there was a major communication error to the degree of the unhappiness... no more roommates watching the fish tank!

I almost cried when i walked in the house and saw it today... i feel so bad and ****ty. I know $1000 worth of corral may not be that much to some of you, but for me it will take years to replace it all!