LED Control Necessary?

Exodus

Hello,

So as of recent I’m sick of my AI Nano and looking for a different LED Fixture for my 12g Nano. I have been looking at the Kessil A150W Lights and from what I see they are pretty much a halide replacement option with wonderful reviews. I have been told to go with the A160w being it has the ability to be controlled but that’s another $50 for the light and another $100 for the controller. I’m not too concerned with the aesthetics of simulating dusk to dawn, but what I am concerned about is frying my corals with a (1 size fits all) solution like the A150 as I have no personal experience with that light.  Was just wondering what others might think or if anyone has personal experience with these lights my suggest.

If you use the gooseneck and 90 degree adapter you will have lots of options of height adjustment. I don't think you will have to worry about frying corals though, the 150's are not super intense, if you go with a 350/360 you could definitely fry stuff.

The A160 also has dimmer knobs for manual control. If you ever think your going to get a controller, you could just hold off on the kessil controller and use a RKL or Apex to control in the future. I would lean more towards the 160 for future control and the dimmers.

Dawn to dusk effects don't grow coral any better than on/off, just for visual pleasure.

I have heard both sides on the controller debat simulating dusk to dawn, though I'm no scientist and definatley not nearly experienced in this as many of the people here are, but what I can say is some of the nicest looking tanks I have seen, simply did no such thing a simple on/off. I read a bit more into the A160we Tuna Blue and apparently it is Apex Ready but there is no further info on that, I would be plugging it into my Apex Jr. but not sure just how much control I would have over the lights for that matter but being it is compatible I guess theres no reason why I shouldn't get the 160 instead