polyps issue

g81

Hi everyone.

i have and been having a issue with my polyps. i have around 6-7 diffrent ones. they are never open.

i have a really nice size bunch that were really cool deep green and now are pretty much brown/white

all my polyps are closed and have been. everything else is fine in my tank. all my corals ect. i do my water changes, everything is good water wise.

any input? maby some sore of dosing these need?

thanks

What are your water perameters?

Do you use any dips or quarinten new arrivals?

Both Paly's and zoa's are pretty hardy IME but it sounds like they are unhappy for some reason.

PS a picture would be most helpful :)

i just add my water to the water they come in for about 20 min ro so. and add them to the tank, i never dipped or anything. is that a must do type of thing. im still new to corals so im learning, just weird how my other softires are ok. my leather doesnt sem to want to open fully either

i just add my water to the water they come in for about 20 min ro so. and add them to the tank, i never dipped or anything. is that a must do type of thing. im still new to corals so im learning, just weird how my other softires are ok. my leather doesnt sem to want to open fully either

initial thoughts:

I would get 1-2 'daylight' bulbs in there. I've got a couple 4 footers i could give up for not much...a frag? some macroalgae? $5/bulb? They're just sitting in my closet, so pretty much anything would do it.

next, I'd run some carbon in case the leather is doing some warfare (they'll sometimes release hormones that piss off other corals). dips are more about preventing parasites from getting into your tank than protecting the thing you're moving in.

you could try dipping them in a little iodine or something, could perk them up a bit. Mostly, I'd get a white bulb or two in there and run the carbon.

lastly: did you just switch to the 6-bulb? what did you switch from? you could be having some light acclimation issues?