Another New Guy Intro

uhuru

Hello, a brief introduction:

I'm new to the hobby and have a CADlights 5 gallon nano-reef tank on the way. I used to have a mini-reef when I was much younger but strayed away from the hobby during my teenage and young adult years, so some stuff come back to me when I read about it but a lot of stuff I don't think I understood too well back then anyways. I'm currently a student at OSU and am pretty much fascinated with anything that has to do with biology, chemistry, physiology, etc...

So my all-in-one tank already comes with built in mini-fuge, and T5/actinic lightning. I'm not sure the best place to shop at this time to get live rock/sand, but it looks like the place in Albany is closest for me. As far as other necessary equipment to get started, I'd appreciate any tips. I already have a digital salinity meter. I plan to get an extra bucket and pump to keep mixed saltwater on hand and maybe an ATO since evaporation can have such a big impact on such a small tank (thoughts??).

Thanks for the welcomes guys. With my limited space (and experience) I'm going to stick with (edit: LPS) and some shrimp (gotta have the sexy shrimp), maybe an emerald crab??, and a couple of other cleaners. I want to get a book with "cool pictures and stuff" to get a better idea of what's out there. Any recommendations would be appreciated.

What test kits do I need? I'm thinking:

PH probe

ammonia/nitrite/nitrate test kit

I've seen strontium, calcium, alkalinity test mentioned here and there, but I'm not sure if it's necessary...

Also is a skimmer necessary for a tank this size? Or would I be fine with just the live rock and sand in the tank and fuge? I plan to add some macroaglae as well.

I'd definitely go with a skimmer regardless. And welcome!

Might want to consider a shallow sand bed just for aesthetics, and avoid some of the maintenance issues and longterm problems with deep sand beds (DSB's).

Welcome!!