Help with setup please

PeteRock

I'm helping my buddy set up a 72 gallon reeftank. It's the some tank I have (72 gallon glass bowfront) except mine has a cornered off trickle overflow area and his doesn't.

He wants to run a refugium in his sump and I'm a bit clueless on how to plumb this thing. There are no holes in it and I think we want to avoid drilling it if possible. So we are looking to go over the back with the in and out supply.

Total newb question I know, but does anyone have a diogram they could link or post, so I have some idea of how to set this up?

If it takes two pumps thats fine, I'm just not sure how to get the water back and forth at the same exact rate of exchange so more isn't going up than down etc.

Thanks in advance.

Use an overflow. Don't use 2 pumps. You will not get the same rate, even with using the same pumps.

There are hang on overflows that use an upside down U tube that makes a siphon. You can get one used or buy one new at a fish store. New they are somewhere between $40-80. Check with Patrick at Fanta-Seas or at Rose City.

dsoz

Use an overflow. Don't use 2 pumps. You will not get the same rate, even with using the same pumps.

There are hang on overflows that use an upside down U tube that makes a siphon. You can get one used or buy one new at a fish store. New they are somewhere between $40-80. Check with Patrick at Fanta-Seas or at Rose City.

dsoz

If you pull up pictures of my build thread for the 75 gallon you can see my HOB overflow. Works great.

-It's glass.

Thanks for the tip dsoz. I figured it would have to be some sort of siphon setup, just curious how I'll match the pump volume with an siphon volume.

you don't have to match them, you just have to make sure that the overflow handles more than what the pump is putting out. typically overflows start at around 600gph and go up from there. it depends on the size of the tubes they use and how many siphon tubes you have. some use single others have dual.