plug-in GFCI okay?

uhuru

Ya, you want to do both. One thing about the plug-in GFCI, the one I have will trip when the power goes out. You have to reset it manually when power is restored. I don't like that, so I don't really use it. Might want to check to make sure the one you get does not do that.

Theron

Changing out a regular outlet for a GFCI outlet is very easy. Maybe 20-30 minutes work at the very most, more like 5-10 if the outlet is easily accesible and you're handy. Just make sure you kill the power before working on the outlet (via the breaker that controls that outlet's circuit.)

Simple directions can be found here: link

-Sol

have any of you changed out a regular outlet for a GFCI outlet? how hard is it to do?

I have done it many times. Just make sure to TURN OFF THE POWER AT THE BREAKER FIRST! Otherwise you get the shock of your life (or is it death?)

If you want some help doing this, just ask. I am not an electrician, but I can stare over your shoulder and tell you if you are doing it right. I also have a thing that you plug into the outlet when you are done, and it will tell you if you did it correct.

Cheers :)

dsoz

have any of you changed out a regular outlet for a GFCI outlet? how hard is it to do?

Like most things in life, it depends. I've done this several times. Most were easy and straightforward, just need to be CAREFUL. I also tried one recently that was a pain. The box that the outlet was in was too small. I finally gave up and put the standard outlet back in.

It's fairly easy, but some people get confused with line/load side. The best way to protect a single receptacle is to pig tail and connect just to the load side. Otherwise you will be protecting every thing else down the line. What his means is if something down the circuit fails/shorts, it will take out your tank equipment as well.

• 2 weeks later...