Leaktesting the cube! HOB overflow question

siskiou

I'm finally getting around to setting up the 60G cube. (clap)

Stand and tank and sump are in place and level, and I've started filling with RO water (will probably take forever to fill, but if nothing leaks I'll be ready to mix in salt.

I've never used a HOB overflow before.

How do I go about starting the siphon and the return pump to get things going?

Fill the tank and sump to the correct level, start syphon, and then the pump?

And what's the best way of doing water changes with a HOB overflow?

To start the overflow tubes, I use a plastic baggie on each end, fill u-tube under water, hold baggies tight on each end and quickly stick into the overflow boxes. Might take a few tries. You could also use a pump and tubing the push water into the tubes in place. I would start by filling both tank and sump to the safe levels you want then you have a good idea to not have a flood. Personally, I do WC by siphoning from my display, the siphon boxes do their job to hold the siphon and the sump tube doesn't lose it either since the water stays higher when I turn off the return. Just make sure to do a moch power outage test. Turn off return and make sure the sump can handle the overflow from the display...no future floods that way, but be ready to power back on quick or take H2O from sump in a hurry. (hard lesson learned :) )

[quote=Nyles;53897}

Keep in mind your sump water will be on the floor if the siphon stops, this is the reason they are not recommended, due to air getting in there.