RO efficiency options?

fishmanmike01

Possibly one benefit is that the waste water from membrane one turns around and goes through a second membrane.  In theory cutting the waste water in half.  

I have no experience though with the 150 GPD membranes.  

I am running that BRS second membrane and it was a breeze to setup.  It made 180 gallons in 19 hours a couple days ago or about 127 Gallons Per Day.

One other difference, the second membrane requres allot of water pressure.  I had to go to my pressure reducing valve on the water supply and up the pressure a tad.

Possibly one benefit is that the waste water from membrane one turns around and goes through a second membrane. In theory cutting the waste water in half.

I have no experience though with the 150 GPD membranes.

I am running that BRS second membrane and it was a breeze to setup. It made 180 gallons in 19 hours a couple days ago or about 127 Gallons Per Day.

One other difference, the second membrane requres allot of water pressure. I had to go to my pressure reducing valve on the water supply and up the pressure a tad.

What pressure are you running? My other concern/confusion is most setups I've seen only have the fast flush at the end of the series. Wouldn't this force all the scale and whatnot from the first membrane into the second? Wouldn't you really need the ability to flush both? Makes sense to me. Edited by fishmanmike01

From what I've read you go from a 1:4 good to waste ratio to a 1:1 with dual membranes. You will still have a 1:4 if you go 150gpd vs dual. The main issue as stated is pressure. I run a single 150 and have to have 60 psi in to the membrane to be efficient. It's likely similar for dial 75s. I was going to go dual 150s but my dang booster pump died so I'm stuck with the inefficient for now :(