Weight Of 180 Gallon On Second Floor

Mitchell

I'd like to keep my 180 gallon aquarium, but the only place I can set it up is on the second floor. I can set it up with the floor joists going perpendicular and on a load bearing wall, but I am still a bit concerned about the weight. Is anyone on here knowledgeable about structural engineering? If so I would be more than grateful if you could help me.

Thanks,

Mitchell

Sent from my DROIDX using Tapatalk

I have a 125 in a hundred year old house with no foundation. It's on the first floor but needless to say I was concerned. Two years later and the floor has not warped at all, IMO if you do everything you described IE load bearing wall ext. you will be fine. I think the six feet goes a long way in helping to disperse the weight, I am no engineer though.

You'll want to look into the deflection calculation as well. I believe the IBC allows designs of only 30psf "live load" and deflection of L/360 where L is the length of any single member's span. So if your joists are spanning 15 feet you'd have an allowable deflection of (15 x 12)/360 = 0.5". Fortunately by placing your tank at one end of the member's span you'll have the least amount of deflection.

Ed - are you sure about the 250psf load you quoted? I believe IBC only requires a 30psf "live load" plus 5psf "dead load" (which is consumed by the building materials) for sleeping areas.

You'll want to look into the deflection calculation as well. I believe the IBC allows designs of only 30psf "live load" and deflection of L/360 where L is the length of any single member's span. So if your joists are spanning 15 feet you'd have an allowable deflection of (15 x 12)/360 = 0.5". Fortunately by placing your tank at one end of the member's span you'll have the least amount of deflection.

Ed - are you sure about the 250psf load you quoted? I believe IBC only requires a 30psf "live load" plus 5psf "dead load" (which is consumed by the building materials) for sleeping areas.