Majano/Aiptasia control

oldbrownies

Are those saddle butterflies supposed to eat majano's? i didnt know there was a natural predetor of those ones. On the aipastia, i say some of us get together in the club and order some berghii nudibranch's and just pass them around after they finish the job on the aipastia. They arent too bad pricing wise and no lfs in town seems to be able to get them....

afaik and imo copperbands do not it majano, aiptasia yea, majano no.

Im a fan of the kalkwasser paste smother method. Make a thick paste of kalkwasser and a little water and smear a chunk on all the unwanteds and their hidey holes with your finger. kills them good.

I've been doing that to the 3 in my tank once a week for 3 months now and it hasn't killed one of them, i must have a super strain or something!

I have good luck with Joes juice.

However, if i am careless or in a hurry, they simply come back as has been described. It didnt work for me long term either until I figured out how it needs to be used.

I shut off all flow to the tank and slowly approach them not making them flinch........i never actually touch them, i drop the food(joes juice) from slightly above them and allow them to eat absolutely as much as they can hold which is quite a bit of the stuff. I have quite a bit of flow in my tanks so after treating i will leave the flow off for another 5 minutes. It works, they do not come back.

I would like to know what exactly Joes Juice is made from. I would bet money it IS kalk or similar, but with something else added to it that makes them want to eat it.

Kalk paste and peppermint shrimp combo worked great for me. I used peppermint shrimp for the refugium only. They cleared out all the little and medium buggers in two days. The kalk was deadly for my hard to get ones in the fuge and display. Just keep at it. It took me four months to get it under control. Kalk is cheaper than joes juice too. Don't forget to check your overflow too.