Measures 66 and 67

theJenchild

Hey Everyone,

I am trying to get the word out about these two measures that will appear on the January ballot for the state of Oregon. I currently work in the human services field and, like everyone, we are tightening the belts to conform to the current economic climate. In an effort to continue providing services to people who need them (low income, MRDD, disabled, and the eldery) and protect the current standard of education in our state, Oregon has brought these two measures to a vote. Sadly, there is alot of anti-legislation propaganda happening right now (you've all seen the "stop job killing taxes" signs).

Here's the short version of what these two measures are all about:

1. Measure 66: would require corporate businesses to pay a minimum income tax of $150.00. This is an increase from the current $10.00 that they are required to pay. The current minimum was set in 1931 and has not been adjusted since then. This measure would simply account for the cost of living increase and inflation to bring the minimum tax in line with what everyone else is required to pay.

2. Measure 67: Would increase the income tax paid by the top 3% of tax payers by 1.8% only on income filed over the predetermined about (125,000 for a single, 250,000 for a couple). So if a couple filed an income of 260,000, they would be taxed the addition 1.8% only on 10,000 of that since it was over the 250,000. This translates to an increased tax of $180.00.

These two measures will protect nearly $1 billion in services that are vital to our communities, as well as thousands of jobs in the human services and education fields....mine included. So please, read more about these two measures and find it in your heart to vote yes and help create a fairer taxation system in Oregon that does not favor corporations over the individual.

For more information: www.defendoregon.org

• Like 1

With respect, I have to disagree.