Just started Vodka Dosing...

Ocean In a Box

I just started drinking....I mean dosing Vodka. Some of my frag tanks have had some algae that I am wanting to see if Vodka dosing will cure. I ran across a very nice artice which I wll share below which shows some incredible before and after photos. Take a look if you havent already.

http://www.reefkeeping.com/issues/2008-08/nftt/index.php

I have been dosing vodka for 3 months..does make a great improvement...but you greatly increase the effectiveness if you dose bacteria at the same time...Microbacter 7 from Brightwell, ZEObac from ZEOvit...greatly speeds what you are trying to accomplish and well worth the effort...IMHO...

DrMerle

I read the article awhile back but it states not to dose carbon if you dont have detectable Nitrate or phosphate. I have some algae on the sand bed and tuffs on the powerheads but I test 0 for both. Are people dosing just because of algae or testing and have phos/nitrates?

If you've got algae, you've got nitrates/phos...

You can test zero for both, but nitrates/phosphates could have been absorbed by your rocks and is now leaching out and is being used by algae...

If you had higher nitrates/phosphates in the past, you've improved your husbandry but are paying for past sins...continue with husbandry and see if eventually you can deplete your nitrate/phosphate reservoirs in the rock...

DrMerle

I am going to dose vodka starting this weekend and i have no detectable NO3/PO4. I want to try and starve out the turf algae that has been growing since i first got my rock. The key is to go slow as with everything in this hobby ;)

Keep us updated on how it goes Perry!

IME, IMHO going to slow is a waste of time. I would start with a dose. Dose three times, every other day, then double the dose.

I no longer use vodka, but prefer sugar. I have doses many tanks. Only good results so far.

If you see white strings in the display, skip a dose.