High Nitrates How To Lower

pnkrcklives

I have noticed the nitrates ramping up in my system. Almost to 20mg/l Yesterday. my system is mostly softies. They are staying very small and slow to open. Same with the nems. I am sure my tank is over stocked and I probably feed to much. My skimmer is probably too small(I do get a pint of skimate a week). But I was wondering what the best way to lower nitrate is. Without spending a fortune. Small water changes each day and my normal 10% per week? Or up my weekly water changes to 20%. I am also concerned with the fact that my calcium lowers when I change water. Any help will be appreciated I am pretty new to this saltwater game.

Nitrate 20mg/l

Nitrites undetectable

Ammonia undetectable

Calcium 380

Kh 7

PH 8.2

Magnesium 1200

PH 8.2

Specific gravity 1.026

More live rock, better skimmer, refugium. As of now to lower it I would do water changes until it was undetectable. It's weird that they are there with your regiment of water changes. How long has your tank been up? Has it gone through the "Cycle"? What livestock do you have? Oh, and are you using an ro/di to purify your water?

Maybe an excuse to get some more live rock wink wink. I will just do small water changes each day this week and reduce my feeding a little. Thanks for the Info what about mangroves in my sump. Maybe I will do some more research on this vodka dosing I hear about. Any good links? What about a few more hermits to eat some detrius(or would that just raise nitrates further)

a deep breath and here we go.....

1) larger water changes

2) increase flow within tank

3) more frequent water changes

4) reduce feedings

5) larger, better skimmer

6) filtration pads changed more often

7) reduce livestock

8) vodka dosing

9) vinegar dosing

10) sugar dosing

11) above combo dosing

12) biopellets

13) GFO/carbon

14) increase clean up crew numbers

15) work aggressively on a refugium

I'm getting tired...

16) vacuum tank weekly