Skimmer Question, little skimate

pledosophy

So my PCI RPS 1000 recirculating skimmer is pulling next to nothing. I haven't emptied the thing in a month and there is less the 3/4" of skimate in the cup.

I feed an O.K. amount (mysis, carnivore cusine, cycopleeze, nori, brine). My nitrates are zero, no nuisance algae to complain of so really I have no problem I would just like to see some skimate for the investment.

I'm kinda new to the skimmer scene, ran tanks for the first 7 years without one. Decided to get one when I had a nitrate problem (10ish). It skimmed some stuff for a bit and then stopped. Nitrates are gone now, have been for awhile. I do 30% water changes weekly.

I have done all the stuff to help I know how to do, which is little. I did some research and found out that cleaning the neck to often could be bad so I stopped cleaning it weekly. I adjusted the water flow through it, both more flow and less flow, still no skimate.

I'm growing a good amount of algae in the refugium. My two sump monsters (brittle stars) have gotten huge so there is some food in there they are finding. The tank runs through the refugium and then into the return pump which is split to feed the skimmer.

The thing is plugged in, I can hear it, there are tons of bubbles.

Any other advice. If I can't get this thing to work soon you'll find it in the classified section for sale or for trade for acans or a nice gorg. So posting advice or pics to trade would be cool. Everything I have researched about this skimmer says it's a great skimmer and everyone is so happy with it, so . . . it's gotta be something stupid i'm doing, very likely.

Thanks to you all. I know if there is an answer I'll find it here.

I did a brief search, just to get a look at what we are dealing with. For id purposes only:

http://amekaaquatics.com/search.html?productcategory_id=24