New reefer in Vancouver

Trever

Hello everyone,

My name is Trever and I'm a reef-a-holic. Well, actually I'm just getting started but I've become fascinated with the hobby. About 10 years ago I started a small 29 gallon fish only saltwater tank. When I moved out of an apartment into a house, I took the tank down and never set it up again...until now. My 3 year old son wanted a fish tank for his birthday and that was all the encouragement I needed to get my tank out again.

I have a 29 gallon setup that is doing quite well thanks to alot of help from Andy (a friend and co-worker and member of the boards). In my 29 gallon tank, I have two percs and a coral beauty. I also have a fire shrimp, three emerald crabs, half a dozen hermits and a couple dozen various snails. I also have a nice feather duster.

Andy has been gracious enough to help me get started with some corals and inverts. He gave me several Zoa's, torch coral, mushrooms, palys and a couple sponges. Everything seems to be doing very well so far in the tank.

I'm now in the process of putting together a 125 gallon tank. With Andy's help and lots of research online, I've gotten the acrylic sump built, tank stand built (minus the cabinetry which will come soon) and the tank is in place. It's mostly plumbed and I'm waiting for my pumps to come in. It's clearly going to be an expensive hobby but so far I'm enjoying it more than I can express.

The whole process has been tremendously educational for me and my three year old son. He has affectionately named our fish (Nemo, baby Nemo, Carlin - the angel fish, Dusty - the feather duster, and Coop - the shrimp). All of the emeralds are just called "Mean Crabs" because they were fighting in the bag the day we brought them home from the LFS. He's learned all about molting, feeding and how the fish and crabs and snails interact. It's great to have something he and I can get excited about together.