New guy from Redmond, have some ?

TRENT

Hello everyone, I have been lurking around for a few days very cool site. I live in Redmond Or. I'm new to saltwater but not fish I currently have a 45,55,125,and 150 freshwater setup. But have always wanted a saltwater tank. I just purchased a 16 gal nano tank (4years established). it's been up and running for 4 days and all seems good. But I do have some questions.I know I'm supose to do my homework before I buyDOH!. But I't was such a good deal:D, so now it's time to learn a few things. Now for the questions. How do the water conditions look? How many times a day do you feed? how often do I change water and how much at a time? do I use any water conditioner? Can I use bottle water from store to do changes? Thats it for now. I will get pictures up later so I can figure out what I have for rock, plants, light and filter. Thanks for the feedback. T

Here is what's in their for fish;

Banded Coral Shrimp

Green Goby

6 line Wrasse

Clownfish

Water conditions;

PH 8.2

Ammonia 0

Nitrite 0.50

Nitrate 10

Trent,

Welcome to the forum, you will find lot of info in here. I also have a 16G nano tank too, I got a HOB sump to placed all my heater, skimmer and some LR. :-) I do regular water change, 4 gals per week. Daily I fill up my tank with a cup. I get my sea water from Seahorse, local fish shop. I feed my fish once a day, when I feed my fish I turn off my powerhead and my HOB sump.

Welcome!

Use reverse osmosis (RO) water. Either buy it from a fish store, or get it from a grocery store (or wall-mart). Distilled is not as good, and don't use "purified" bottle water.

If you use RO water, there is no need for a "water conditioner" to remove chlorine, because there is no chlorine in RO water.

You can also buy an RO unit for somewhere around $100-200. You don't need a large one because of the size of your tank.