Green star polyp normal behavior?

fjdog

Hi all, I am new to corals in general and bought a small green star polyp frag and put it in the tank about 3 weeks ago. It has attached to the rock and seems to be growing, but the polyps retract in the afternoon and evening. At night and when the lights first come on in the morning, the tentacles are fully expanded. Is this normal behavior or is there something weird about my system that is causing this. In the store, they always seem to be expanded. Any suggestions? For reference, the frags are under t5 lighting about 12 inches down in the water profile. Also all chemical tests came out with favorable results (I usually do testing in the evening).

My first impression is that IT IS normal for corals to take some time to acclimate to a new system. I have seen GSPs retracted for several weeks and it has not had any bad outcome on the coral.

You didn't say what fish you have. I ask because I had a GS maroon clown that pulled the polyps off of some of my GSPs, back in the day. And they might be extending at night when they aren't being bothered.

• 2 weeks later...
My tang is killing GSP by constantly nipping at the polyps.

She's done away with patches on two rocks so far, and is working on the last patch of GSP growing on the overflow...

She also nipped the polyps off a large leather, which is now much happier in the 60G cube!

Will you loan me your tang (the enforcer)? I'm getting pissed at the GSP as they are still pulling their tentacles in during my prime viewing time but still expanding their purple mat over the rock! Aargh! Perhaps corals are not in my future!!!!! GSP is supposed to be one of the easiest to keep.

Mine are now growing across the sand. At least they will be easy to frag, and they are always out. I'll be fragging it soon, guess i'll call it TAE-GSP = The Always Extended Green Star Polyps. Or GSPAO = Green Star Polyps Always Open

Ebay here i come!!! (laugh)