Another dumb move by me!

pledosophy

So yesterday in cleaning I seemed to have scratched the bageezers out of my new tank. O.K there is like 4 or 5 scratches, but to a new tank that constitutes the bageezers to me. I'm pretty sure I did it with a Kent Pro Scraper, guarenteed not to scratch acrylic, based on where the scratches are. I guess I need to learn how to buff them out.

Questions:

Do I need to drain the tank?

Is it something I can screw up to the point of needing a new tank? ( if it can be screwed up you can count on me to do it)

Thanks.

DOH!

I'm assuming the tank is acrylic, if so - no need to drain the tank. Get a Micro-Mesh kit www.micro-surface.com kit # NC-78-1 should run ~$40. Completely safe to use in a fully stocked tank though will take some elbow grease on your part.

There are a coupla other kits out there, most notably one made by 3M, however I have no experience with it so can't comment on it's effectiveness and can't recommend it for the same reason. I do have plenty of experience with the Micro-Mesh kits and they are quite good.

To prep for the use of Micro-Mesh you first have to get rid of the scratch by blending the surrounding material down to the deepest part of the scratch. In general Micro-Mesh will not remove enough material to do this on a bad scratch so coarser grades of wet/dry sandpaper should be used. It is important to use sandpaper that is *just coarse enough* to blend the scratch and not go too far. Going to far will not destroy your tank but will make the remedy that much more difficult and tedious.