Overflow/GPH Help

nanoreefer17

Starting a new build, 26x26x18 cube and have a 24x24x16 sump built. I want to move about 1000gph I'm thinking through the sump. It will e sps dominant, and I am going pretty high end on equipment. I am thinking single drain, with a secondary emergency drain, and then a single return pump that will split into 2 pipes near the top to add more directional flow.

I am looking to do this DIY, and have done my last tank This way but want it to look clean and have all the pipes within the overflow drilled throuh the bottom so the cube sits flush with the wall. I am thinking 1 inch drain and 1 inch return, but am not enitely sure if this is sufficient in size. I have also seen multiple methods to minimize noise, but don't really know what's best?

Hope someone can help! Thanks

Sent from my VS986 using Tapatalk

I am by no means a plumbing expert, but I've recently been researching flow rates.  What I am reading is that flow through the sump (open loop) "should" be about 3 to 5 times the tank volume in order for the filtration to do its thing, and flow in the tank (closed loop) "should" be 10 to 20 times the tank volume.  If my calculations are correct, you've got a 50 gallon tank so at 1000 gph through the sump, you are turning over the open loop 20 times per hour, which is many times more than the "recommended" flow rate.  Here are a couple of links that I was referring to.

http://gmacreef.com/turnover-flow-rate-through-sump-reef-tank/

http://www.3reef.com/threads/sump-display-turnover-rate.131332/

I know flow rates aren't the specific question you were asking and I don't want to hijack your thread, but I'm trying to learn.  Is there a benefit to making the flow rate in the open loop 20 times per hour rather than something significantly slower, say 5 times per hour?