What to dose with?

kuda

Welcome to the site :)

I just started my tank in Feb/March, so I am not an expert by any means. I think most people use Kalc (calcium hydroxide), and baking soda as a 2-part additive (and mag-flake as a 3rd part every now and then). This keeps both calcium and carbonate levels up high. OR they have automated and use a calcium reactor, or a Kalk reactor. Both of these increase calcium levels, but they do it in different ways. I don't think many people dose anything else.

If you keep up with water changes, and keep nitrates and phosphates low, you should not need to dose anything. But I think the number 1 rule that you should follow: If you don't test for it, don't dose for it.

Cheers, and happy reefing!

You should think about coming to our meeting on Sunday. You will meet a lot of good people.

dsoz :)

If you are just starting out with a 'new' tank you shouldn't have to add anything until you start to build up a population of corals.

Like dsoz said regular water changes should keep up with the tank needs at the beginning. And I agrre DON'T add anything if you are not testing for it.

WELCOME!!

I bought the tank used and running with live rock and fish and it is ready for coral to be added. I've had success with lots of other corals, just have never had strong enough lighting for SPS corals. What about iodine and magnesium and so on...trace elements blah blah blah

I second Michael, test everything before dosing. One of the first elements to go is usually Iodine. Go and get some test kits. I would recommend calcium, alkalinity, and magnesium. Those are the ones you will have to dose most often, besides iodine. Good Luck and keep on asking questions if you can't find a certain answer online.

• 2 weeks later...