Slightly overwhelmed….need help

GroYurOwn

I have been out of the hobby for a few years now. Brother in law is giving me a 46g acrylic tank to get me back in to it. The tank is not drilled, I would like to drill it. I think I have the drilling part figured out, but I cannot figure out how to make the overflow. I don't know where to get the acrylic, i don't know how thick it should be either. I am getting really frustrated and wanted to see if anyone local had any ideas on how to get this done. I would even pay someone else to make one for me at this point. I am at a stand still here. Also, the tank has some scratches in it, any suggestions on easy removal? Thanks in advance, cat wait to get started again!

PS any advice on bulkhead and pipe size, or any plumbing in general is helpful. I have never done this before and would like to get it right the first time.

Are you in portland now? If so Woody at seahorse has buffers to help with minor scratches inside and out. You can even wet sand the deep ones with wet sandpaper to 12,000 grit and are able to get it looking brand new, well almost it they aren't too deep. With regard to the overflows, are you thinking about putting a corner overflow or you gonna just drill holes in back wall for drain and inlet that will go to sump? There are a lot of options/opinions and i can walk you thru buffing the acrylic. PM with you number and i will call you. Too difficult to explain over phone.

That's funny cause i was use at seahorse yesterday. i was also told that TAP plastics has a good kit. I just can't find any sandpaper over 400 grit! thats my biggest frustration at right now.