Share your DIY disasters on the radio!

Emerald525

I am posting this again because I think it got lost in the thread shuffle. Most of us have had some floods, other disasters, and great stories of things going wrong. Don't be shy! Share your experience and bring some more exposure to our wondeful club! I know there have been some great stories!Here's the original post:

Radio Show Interview

Hello, my name is Jaymee Cuti and I'm a producer for a radio show called Destination DIY. I'm also an aquarist with a 15g reef tank.

We're producing an episode on DIY disasters. In my experience, I've caused a lot of fish-related disasters (flooding, letting a sump run dry that nearly resulted in an electrical fire, bagging the wrong fish together that resulted in unnecessary fighting...). I'm wondering if anyone has any fish-keeping disasters that they'd be willing to talk about on the radio.

Destination DIY airs on Oregon Public Broadcasting and a few other stations in Oregon, New York and Texas, as well as a podcast online. To learn more about the show, visit www.destinationdiy.org or contact me with questions.

Please contact me at jaymee@destinationdiy.org to talk further. I'm on a very tight deadline so I hope to hear from you ASAP. Thanks!

I have turned on my RODI filter to make up some water and the next morning wake up to a flooded house, now this would be ok if it happened a couple of times, but I am going on 10+ times now that I have done it, you would think after the 3rd, 4th, 5th time, I would have put a float or some form of stopper on it so when it fills up it will stop, but I havn't...So in a way, I create disasters by not doing some form of a DYI float valve....I need to do it before I ruin my house...lol, and I don't know if anyone has ever done this, but sitting and watching a 40g garbage tub fill up with RODI water is BORING!!! I end up walking away and getting side tracked and the next thing you know, I wake up to a flooded house...LOL