building an overflow

mister crabs

going to build an overflow this week and figured i would use black acrylic and dremel the teeth into the top. but I have never worked with acrylic before so what do i need to glue it together? and which acrylic os safe for aquariums? I heard one of the GE silicons but unsure if it was I or II. all help appreciated!

Jeez, I dunno about using silicon. It has a little more than zero holding strength on acrylic. Get some Weldon; TAP Plastics and Parkrose Hardware have it, as should any decent hardware store. Do you know anyone with a router? That'd do a nicer job on the overflow teeth.

Personally, I like to do things right the first time...not that I always do, but I'd suggest using a product that is made for it so there's no DOH! factor.

As for silicone, if the product is mildue resistant, it likely has the additive that is not supposed to be fish friendly. Check the MSDS sheets on the mfg. site, it lists all ingredients of a product.

Article below on gluing acrylic and types of glue.

http://ozreef.org/diy_plans/techniques/gluing_acrylic.html

You should use a router or table saw to make those overflow teeth. If you use a dremel odds are it will look like a homemade haircut, its the little things that count when doing DIY. If your using a table saw get a dado blade or stack blades so you can do it thicker than single blade width. They come in real handy on all kinds of projects.

HD doesn't carry Weld-On; it's a industrial-type adhesive and is pretty nasty stuff. Evidently, California illegalized one of the formulae (#4?) and now it is almost impossible to get (TAP portland stopped stocking it).

1/4" would be fine, TAP usually has enough to make a couple of overflows in their scraps bin. At a dollar a pound for scraps, figure $2 :)