Lighting Suggestions

USCG CWO

Okay I am seriously close to upgrading tanks again (nutty). I am looking at a 36 x 36 x 27 150gal Marineland Deep Dimension Tank. I need suggestions on lighting it. I have no experience with 400w so could I get away with one or do I need two. I love my 250w 14k Phoenix bulbs but not sure I could use just two.

How would you light it if money wasn't a concern? More concern with ballast, wattage, reflectors and T-5's/VHO vice any particular bulb brand or kelvin rating.

Well the 'rule of thumb' is that if the tank is over 22" deep then 400's will be the only light to reach the bottom.

But maybe you can run the 2-250's as your main light and have 1-400 come on during the middle of the day to represent the sun at full strength. But in doing that finding reflectors might be a pain.

Well the 'rule of thumb' is that if the tank is over 22" deep then 400's will be the only light to reach the bottom.

But maybe you can run the 2-250's as your main light and have 1-400 come on during the middle of the day to represent the sun at full strength. But in doing that finding reflectors might be a pain.

this is exactly what i do and my tank is 24" deep and the light is still too bright for a lot of the chalices

My tank is 36 wide, so you can see what 1 light with a Lumenbright looks like. Tank is 72 long, so I have three pendants. Two are 250 one is 400. You would want 400 for a 27" deep tank if you want to grow SPS close to the bottom, but you may want to go with 250 so you can grow lower light corals down there.

My suggestion would be one Lumenbright large (20") with a selectable ballast. Then you could easily switch from 250 to 400 and back if you wish.

Simple...one light, one ballast=cost savings over time.

If you would like to come over and see what that would look like you are welcomed.

Ken

Here is the quote from page 6