Cutting Glass for Homemade Sump..Help...

Ronjunior

Goal: to make a sump around 16" deep, around 17" tall and maybe 3' long.

I have a few 55 gallon aquariums I want to cut down and make a sump that will fit under my cabinet. I was going to use 1 untouched, but wouldn't be able to manuever underneath, let alone squeeze a skimmer cup out.

I don't have a problem cutting glass from 4' to 3' or so, I'm afraid of trying to cut the 3' piece from the 21" down to 17". In other words, basically shortening the height of the tank/sump. Anyone try to cut this thick of glass over the length of a 3' span....only taking off a few inches and have it turn out with a straight break?

Other option is to trade someone with a sump for a tank.

Of course Im not good with glass, at least I've never cut glass. But it seems alot of work to remove the frame and silicone to then cut the glass. I personally would look around for a cheap used tank the size your looking for, I guess they probably dont come that size though. Im using a 20L for my sump, I just measured, its only 12" high, 12" deep and about 2 1/2 feet long. A little smaller than what your wanting.

Oh well, good luck, sure would be the cheapest route if you already have the tank and know how to cut glass. Hopefully its a old one you have laying around, wouldnt want to risk a new one.

I cut about 12" out of the back of my 29gal using a dremel. Took about 30 min. I didn't have any problems, i think the glass was 1/4" thick. I think it would be simple to do it all the way around. Especially if you have a rotozip and tile cutting bit. My dremel is battery powered so i would have to recharge it every 30min or so.

P1060107.jpg

P1060106.jpg

P1080001.jpg