First saltwater tank, 24gallon jbj

CrazyInside

As the title states i'm new to SW, and this forum! So i'll start off with a little about myself :D. My name is Matt, i'm 22 and went to MHCC for computer science, I now work at Image Graphics in Portland. I've always kept fresh water tanks, mostly fish that tend to kill others. I had arrowana, piranha and many other predator fish tanks. I started this nano tank about 3/4 months ago and sense then all of my freshwater tanks are gone except a 10g with a puffer that my gf said was to cute to get rid of :D.

Tank specs:

24g jbj nano cube/ with stand

150w k2 viper lamp 14k bulb

MJ 1200 pump

Only running sponge in first bay, live rock in bay 2, heater/pump in 3

I've changed my live rock set up in the tank 3 times sense I started and I finally like what I have so here are the pictures! (cell phone pictures, kinda suck)

fish002.jpg

fish004.jpg

fish014.jpg

fish012.jpg

Scooter blenny in the cave he claimed.. blurry :(

fish011.jpg

So that's how it sits now, has clean up crew, 1 clown, 1 scooter blenny. Also i'd like a bulb that is more blue so if someone could reconmend one for me :D

My next steps are going to be a soap dish in tank refuge to keep up the pod population for the blenny and I'm thinking a zoa garden on the rock in the front in the "court yard" area.(rocks left in the picture of the close up on clown, 3 pictures up)

I'll keep this thread updated as I move on :D

Welcome aboard Matt, glad to have ya.

Couple of suggestions in the terms of gear:

first, on the lights, I'd pick up the Phoenix 14k bulb, it's one of the nicest bulbs on the market and will really make your tank POP!!!!.

second, I'd install at least one powerhead, and if you want to do just one, I'd highly recommend the Vortech MP-10ES, it's absolutely perfect for your tank and you will love all of its options, plus, it won't add more heat to the tank, which is always a plus.