Calcium reactor help?

siskiou

I just got an old, no name calcium reactor from craigslist in trade for corals!

Everything is pretty much included, as far as I can tell. The pump might need replacing. I still have to find out.

But I've never used one of these before and could use a guru!

Is there anyone in Eugene who wouldn't mind coming by some time and helping me figure this thing out?

Thanks, guys! :)

I'll take some pictures tomorrow.

I've cleaned it out and was going to run it with vinegar, but have one quick question: should there be some kind of valve to prevent water from the reactor getting into the bubble counter?

Currently it fills up from the reactor, since I'm not running co2, and I don't think it's supposed to do that, or is it?

I think the reactor might be a DIY one, though it looks fairly nice.

A bit dusty, and some rust on the metal parts, but otherwise okay.

The bubble counter should be about 3/4 full of fresh water and hooked direct to the Co2 tank, most have a check valve at the bottom also. If you dont have the Co2 on I would think the water could run back into the bubble counter

The bubble counter should be about 3/4 full of fresh water and hooked direct to the Co2 tank' date=' most have a check valve at the bottom also. If you dont have the Co2 on I would think the water could run back into the bubble counter[/quote'] Only some do and some don't. My PM does not. Pictures will solve allot of the mystery.

Here is a pic, with a couple of areas circled in red, which means I'm not quite sure what this is. Some off-gassing valve?

Also, I'm wondering if I should switch the water out and CO2 in or leave it as is.

Everything seems leak-proof so far. The bubble counter was leaking yesterday, but it is fine now, with the use of some weld-on.

The pic is pretty small here. Water in is at the bottom, water out up top.