I am a newbie!

matty

First off I just bought a 12g nano cube and have 10lbs of lr and sand, one damsel, three red leg hermits, and three small snails. This is my first attempt at saltwater and I also just moved to the area like 2 months ago! So needless to say any and all info would be welcomed! Just one question I have right now.... Do I need to upgrade anything in my stock nano to keep soft corals and maybe one more fish? Thank you ahead of time for any responses.(fishhit)

Lucky for you we love to give advice! (laugh)

Let us know what your lighting is, just like Brandon asked. That will give us some idea what you can do in the future for your tank. If it's only been running for two months, I would personally not add any more to it and let it age a bit. You really don't want to put a whole lot of fish in a tank of that size. If it were me, I would keep it primarily inverts. Maybe a clown... or just keep the damsel. I've never had one, so I'm not entirely sure how happy they would be in a small tank. I'm sure someone else has a tank your size and might be better able to advise you on bioload.

Personally, I started a nano to showcase the diminuitive inverts that you really can't have in a big tank like pom pom crabs and sexy shrimp. Well, that and my zoanthids! But that's me, not you!

If you have any test kits, it would be nice to know what your water parameters are. The temp, ph... stuff like that. How often are you doing water changes? With a small tank like that you need to keep up on it, especially if you increase your bioload.

Are you having any issues? Algae? What kind of water circulation do you have going on in there? Which brand of nano did you buy?

I'm sure others are going to bark orders at you! (laugh)