Can Anyone Tell Me How This Works??

TaylorW

So I'm looking at this 72 gallon bowfront someone has for sale I'm considering (I've always loved the look of bowfronts and this happens to be the size I want) but I've never seen this type of overflow (not even sure it is one) I'm confused by the pipe in the middle, the clear box with the U Tube I'm hoping isn't it because that's an automatic bad idea I'm sure... but the tank already appears drilled so why bother with a hob overflow with U-Tube? I'm not experienced with this stuff, most tanks I've had were either sumpless or had the one drain and return?? Anyway I hope this isn't a dumb question 😜 I just really would like to make this work if possible, I haven't bought it yet the girl who's selling it posted it for her sister and I haven't bothered to contact her quite yet because I wanted to try and find out what I'm dealing with here first or if it's a bad idea, flood waiting to happen or maybe it's just missing the overflow box?? Any help would be greatly appreciated!!!!! I'm having trouble receiving PM's not quite sure why yet.....IMG_20190308_090139.thumb.jpg.a9b19d2123c1cabf5285a1af13a126ea.jpg

Maybe message seller and ask.  I see it is drilled for return lines but maybe it is not for an overflow? 
I did ask, she posted the ad for her sister [emoji53] I don't know if I want to bother with it now... If I had more experience with this type of thing I would probably consider buying it and making any necessary modifications but since I'm me I would probably end up buying it and not having a clue what to do...

Sent from my BLU R1 HD using Tapatalk