Cameras

spectra

I use a Sony DSCH-1 5.1MP that I bought from Jay and Stacey when they upgraded. It has a nice macro and a 12X Optical zoom which is pretty decent. I know its not top of the lie but still takes great pics. Im sure Sony has new versions of this model that are even better. There are some real camera studs on this site so you should be able to find what ya need. Later Ryan

Yeah when it comes to camers I know nothingDOH! But also do not want one that takes a four year degree to operate(laugh) Or one that is priced way to high(need money for SW stuff you know) as my son will probably be using it at times. He loves to take pics of the tanks in the house(rock2)

I'm a photographer by trade but still use the original rebel for my home stuff. IMO as a hobbyist just looking for fish pics you would be better off with a nice point and shoot then you would be with an SLR. With an SLR you will need to invest more money after the body in lenses to get what you want where many point and shoots hae a zoom and marco feature.

If you just have a couple extra gand you want to spend on something a Cannon SLR with a nice macro lens will give you great pics, but you will need to spend the money for a tripod as well. Otherwise I am really impressed with the Sony's that feature the Carl Zeiss lense, mainly the cyber shots.

I like the Cannons over the Nikons and Fiji's because of the way the sensors are distributed. I haved used a Nikon D1X in the past but find the Cannon supperior for what I do. Right now I can make a 4' by 8' print off a Cannon Jpeg and I haven't had any clients want to go bigger then that. The D1X I was having trouble with 20x24" prints.

Also important to remeber when considering camera's that a mega pixel is not a standard unit of measurement. It essentially means nothing. It's like lighting with watts, doesn't mean crap it's all about the other outputs (NO vs. PC vs. T5. vs MH) if that makes any sense.