Oh my mistakes...

Yourmedic

So, I am new to saltwater in the way that I have had a FOWLR tank before, but never looked at coral before or very many fish. In all honesty, the moment I wanted a saltwater tank was when I first saw a Lion fish in the LFS. I had seen them in aquariums I had gone too, but it hit me, I could have one at home; how cool!!! No judgements please, but my first tank was a 75 gal FOWLR... and all that was in it was the Lion! My freezer was stocked with Silverside and Krill. I was happy and loved watching "Nigel" as I came to call him/her. Never put a thought in other fish, invertebrates, or coral. Nigel was given to a good home with the tank and set-up (if you can even call it that) as I relocated due to being in the military. 

I am now home and will not be relocating anytime in the near future, so as of last year I decided to get "back" into the saltwater adventures; or so I thought. I bought a 40 gallon breeder tank, then built a stand. oohing fancy, but I'm pretty happy with the way it turned out being my first build. ok, slight side note, and I'm more then sure I'm going to get a good back lash for this, but I did NOT research anything on saltwater tanks the first time I got my 75 gallon. I relied on the advice of the LFS; sadly, I did NOT research when I started my 40 gallon breeder either.  :doh: I washed the crushed coral sub straight and placed it in the tank. Made the saltwater and added it as well as the live rock I had purchased. I then put the heaters in place and turned them on, then the filter. I have 2 over the back filters and a canister filter hooked up. Lastly, I added the prop thermometer and the power head. I waited as 6 weeks past, doing some water changes and watching the cycle levels.