Lets talk about clams!

Nyles

Well all this fuss about Tridacnid Clams, lets talk about them! I have some experience with them and curious what people are looking to gain and learn? Maybe we can get some of the simple stuff or complex out on here to get a step ahead of the game (speaker coming) maybe you need help with things regarding Lighting requirements, inspecting for purchase, disease, gaping, ID, rock removal (bysuss thread cutting), feeding? I have researched to my wits end on this before I got into the hobby and would be happy to share research info and first hand experiences.

I have currently Giga's, Maxima, Crocea, and Derasa in my tank and I am looking for a few squamis. ALL and I do mean all of my clams have come from Advanced Aquarium either from me or the person I bought them from got them from him.. LOL.

My first clam was a Crocea and I have had it since I got into the salt hobby. I have had to treat gapping from some new arrivals but never had a loss with clams after they make it to my tank (one bad shipping experience).

Feel free to share experiences or ask questions.

• Replies 95
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

I would love to get a black maxi too, but prices ranging from $150-$500 keep my money in my pocket, marine depot has one for $369, LOL. Simplest and SAFEST way to treat gapping is a 5 minute fresh water treatment, I have read of reports of 10, 15, 20 and even 30 minutes since a clam can shut down, but I just cant sit there that long knowing my clam is in fresh water. I did read of a guy that left a clam in freshwater for 2 hours on RC with NO ill effects. Worst case do multiple smaller dips, but I wouldn't put over 15 minutes.

when the intake opening is very large, looks like an open or gaping mouth, usually (most clams) the mouth stays mostly closed naturally or just barely touching.