Summer Job

aqua-ed

So my main hobby is teaching high school. This is my first year and it is drawing to a close. As a bachelor and a perpetual tinkerer, I couldn't possibly spend the whole summer sitting around, and I don't have the funds to "play" all summer.

With the economy the way it is, I haven't been able to find a summer job not geared toward college or high school students (I really don't want to go back to $8/hr burger flippin' or house paintin').

Then, I had an epiphany. Set up a service of installing and planning saltwater aquariums for businesses. Waiting rooms and lobbies are great places for a tank, and doctor offices and hospitals aren't necessarily are hard hit by the economy and might be willing to splurge on a nice piece of living decor.

I know this isn't an original idea, and that's why I came here. Any tips/opinions/warnings? My biggest thing is that I don't have to have the money. I'm on a salary and can go the summer cruising on savings, but it'd be nice to earn so extra dough. Point is, if I put out so ads, and no one bites, I don't care. My world won't end and I won't go bankrupt if it flops.

Anyway, kind of a long post, but I was trying to predict all the first round responses.

Tell me what you think!

Sounds ok, but you are gonna spend some cash on gas running around doing that. I'd suggest trying to convince a local store that you might handle some of their maintenance accounts. Also, you might want to include freshwater maintenance as this will widen your customer base.

I do this for my main source of income and unless you plan to do just a few tanks and realize this isn't a temporary thing meaning once school starts you don't bag your clients its defiantly a source of income.It's built on reputation and reliability and be prepared for midnight phone calls to fix stuff and its a customer service based business if these things don't seem like you then you may want to look at something else otherwise could grow into something.