Vacuming the sand

Jay

Hello everyone:

I was thinking about how I could vacume my sand without loseing my water so I can take my time. I was thinking why cant I just vacume the sand into my sump through the filter sock to catch the poo that I want gone. This way all the water stays and the junk can be taken out with the filter sock. Has anyone done this yet? I know I dont want to disturb to much of the sand all at once but mabey half one week then half the next week.

Whats your thoughts? Would be a good way to eraticate cyano I would think.

Jay

I'm not an expert on this stuff but I vacuum and always loose so much water but is a great time to vaccum when doing your water change anyways. I always have a lot of junk and think that stirring the sand an putting that water back in would put in a bunch of the bad stuff your sand was filtering out back into the tank. That , I don't think, would be removed throught the sump and sock. I wouldn't think it would be worth the increased levels you could experience.

Is there a reason you are worried about saving that water?

If your tank is drilled for an overflow then it won't be a problem volume wise.

If you have a HOB overflow, make sure it doesn't lose siphon due to less water moving through the U tube.

Other than that, I'd start out with 10% at a time as to not shock the system, assuming you don't have a DSB.

Guest Snorkelwasp

i have done something similar to vaccuum up hair algae/cyanobacteria...i used a canister filter..vaccuums at about the same pace and water goes throuh the filter and comes out clean...you can pack the baskets with filter floss...you may have to change it frequently during the job but you can take your time and save water....probably harder to do with sand but maybe with a siphon tube at the end it may work well...ill experiment.

Not to take over the post but now I'm curious?