Mark's 180 Pentagon

gawf4fun

Hi, I'm new to this web site but have been around the hobby on and off for better than 20 years. One of the local fish stores suggested I check out a local forum versus those long distance other guys, so here I am.

I have three reef tanks currently, a small 11 gallon mixed reef nano on my desk at work, a 20 gallon pentagon clownfish/anenome tank in the kitchen, and a 180 gallon pentagon mixed reef tank in the family room.

I'd wanted a large reef tank for a while, and my wife was adamant that my 90 gallon bowfront and its spray painted black stand was not of a suitable furniture quality to move into our new home. The window of opportunity was thus created. After buying the tank used, I traded my old hot tub (which the house buyer did not want) to my UPS man who built the stand and canopy to match the existing furniture in the new family room. (Happy wife!!)(wife)

The tank dimensions are 48" from the back corners to the front edges, then two 10" side panels, and finally a front viewing panel of 54" across. The depth of the tank is 24". I've never calculated the volume but believe it to be roughly 180 gallons based on the original buyer's estimation. The tank has a back corner overflow which runs to a 30 gallon sump feeding a Precision Marine Bullet 2 skimmer, a PM calcium reactor, a phosban reactor and a 1/4 HP eco-plus chiller. The return is an Iwaki 55RLT run through a 1" Sea Swirl. For flow, I've got a 3000 gph Ampmaster closed loop and recently purchased an Ecotech MP40 Vortech pump.

My lights are 2 x 400 watt 14K MH, run on PFO HQI ballasts, run 8 hours per day, and supplemented with 4 x 65 watt VHO actinics run 12 hours per day.