SPS help, please?

siskiou

I'm fairly new to SPS and am still learning.

I've got several in the 120G that are doing extremely well and are growing like crazy, but also some that do initially really well, with good color, polyp extension and growth, but then go into a slow decline and fade away.

I had switched to IO salt for a few months just before the decline happened, but am not sure if that's an explanation, since some SPS are doing as well as they were before, with Reef Crystals.

Tank Specs:

120G with 24G sump, skimmer, refugium

Ammonia 0

Nitrites 0

Nitrate 2-5ppm

pH 8-8.3 (goes down from 8.3 to 8 after lights out)

Kh 7 (too low?)

Calcium 380 (despite Kalkwasser top-off)

Magnesium 1200

Phosphates read 0, but I've ordered GFO, since I don't really trust that reading.

I've got a Tunze 6000, a Tunze 6055, a Koralia 4 and an MJ mod providing flow, plus the Eheim 1262 return pump.

I feed my fish once every day. Zoas and LPS are doing well.

I'd love some input as to what I can do to make the SPS happy across the board, and not just in a hit or miss fashion.

Also, how do I determine if the species I have prefer high flow or lower flow?

try to get your CA and alk up a little more 2dkh for alk and about 60 more for CA. the kalk is good for helping to maintain the levels once you get there' date=' not as helpful for raising them though.[/quote']

Thanks!

Did you mean 12 dkh?

I always get the Alk measuring units confused. Mine is at 7 dkh right now.

The only calcium supplement I have around (besides Kalk) is a bottle of Purple up that I received with some LR last year.

Would that be okay to use?

I agree -- get alk and Ca up like JeffP suggests and I'll bet things turn around.

Thanks! I'll be working on those two parameters!

Does everything else look okay?

And I just remembered that some of my T5 bulbs are over a year old now.

I should probably start switching them out one by one.

Thanks!

Did you mean 12 dkh?